The Cape Cod Bracelet

I had my eye on a Cape Cod Bracelet for some time. They are simple and classic silver bands with either a silver or gold ball that screws the two sides together so that it never slips or slides off your wrist. Some people wear theirs for years without ever taking them off. I was out to dinner with my mom in Hyannis off Main street when I saw the jewelry in the window at The Silver Seahorse. I slid the silver ring on my wrist and loved how it looked. My mom treated me to the bracelet as a impromptu gift. When we got home, she googled the design and realized the original was created in Dennis by a John Carey in Dennis, MA almost 30 years ago. The bracelet was the first design and now there are necklaces, rings and earrings with the same simple ball concept. The design was never patented and it is now ubiquitous in shops all over Cape Cod. She said, “Chris, we should have bought yours from the Dennis jeweler– these are the original!.” I had to talk her out of returning it and convinced her mine was just as beautiful and high quality. But it had me thinking though– are the originals that much more special? I may have to go to Eden Hand Arts on 6A and see how it really compares. Anyone have an original? Send me your thoughts.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “The Cape Cod Bracelet”

  1. Bella Michelle Says:

    I have an original purchased (approximately) 10 years ago by my husband. At the time, I was blissfully unaware of their wide popularity but was glad to receive it to remind me of our family time spent on the Cape for vacations. I love having it because it’s design history is so wonderfully simpe and so very American…but either way the design is perfectly balanced and elegant. Glad you enjoy yours….I wear mine all the time, literally it is the only piece of jewelry that I don’t remove and it has been that way for years. I can’t respond much on the issue of original quality verses an inspired version…the important thing is that you like yours and you have a wonderful memory that your Mother gifted it to you on a special visit.

Leave a comment